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There are special risks involved when selling alcohol to the 

public. It is a unique product, and that’s why after Prohibition 

ended, the State of North Carolina chose to strictly control its 

sale. The ABC Commission issues ABC permits, and works 

with Alcohol Law Enforcement (ALE) officers to enforce alcohol 

laws and rules.

 

In general, alcohol laws and rules control activities that 

take place in bars, restaurants, and stores where alcoholic 

beverages are sold. They are designed for the safety and 

general welfare of your customers. They also require the ABC 

Commission to follow the activities of permittees to ensure 

they are offering only the services allowed under their permits. 

As an ABC permit holder, you are required to uphold these 

regulations, and you play an important role in keeping the 

public safe.

North Carolina’s ABC laws are found in Chapter 18B of the 

North Carolina General Statutes. The ABC Commission’s Rules 

are found within the North Carolina Administrative Code, 

Title 4, Chapter 2. A copy of the complete Alcoholic Beverage 

Control Laws and Rules is available for purchase from the ABC 

Commission. Or you may find the complete laws and rules 

online on the ABC Commission’s website, http://abc.nc.gov.

This guide is designed to help you better understand some of 

North Carolina’s laws and rules regarding the sale of alcohol. 

Further, the ABC Commission strives to help permitted 

businesses operate within North Carolina’s regulations by 

providing good information and advice. We hope you find this 

guide helpful, but remember the laws and rules are the final 

authority for selling and serving alcohol in North Carolina.

If you have additional questions, you may contact the ABC 

Commission or your local ALE office for additional information. 

Contact information is located in the back of this guide.

Alcohol Sales & Consumption:
•  Alcohol may not be sold or served to persons less than 

    21 years old. 

•  Alcohol may not be possessed or consumed by persons       

    less than 21 years old, regardless of where the alcohol       

    is purchased. If a parent provides a minor alcohol, it is     

    illegal and not allowed in your establishment. (Exception:    

    NCGS §18B¬103.11) 

•  Alcohol may not be sold or served to any person who   

    is intoxicated. 

•  Intoxicated persons are not allowed to consume alcoholic    

    beverages on the licensed premises. 

•  Alcohol may not be purchased with food stamps. 

•  Happy Hours are not allowed. Free or reduced drink prices  

    cannot be offered during limited hours. Special drink prices  

    must be offered to all customers for the entire day and in all  

    areas of the business.

•  Certain drink specials or promotions are not allowed:        

    2 for 1; buy 1, get 1; buy 1, get 1 for a nickel; buy a meal   

    (or anything), get a free drink; etc. are illegal. 

Hours of Sale: 
•  Alcohol can only be sold or served Monday – Saturday  

    between 7 a.m. and 2 a.m. On Sundays, alcohol can only be  

    sold, served and consumed after Noon. Remember,    

    some cities and/or counties may further restrict         

    Sunday sales.

•  If you hold an on-premise permit, alcohol sales must end at  

    2 a.m., but customers have until 2:30 a.m. to consume it.  

    That means, you should have all tables, counters, bars, etc.  

    cleared of alcohol by 2:30 a.m. 

•  No alcoholic beverage may be removed from the licensed     

    premises at any time that alcohol sales are not allowed   

    by law. 
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Business Responsibilities:
•  Prominently display your ABC permit at your business 

    at all times.

•  No drugs (any controlled substance) are allowed on the 

    licensed premises. 

•  No gambling or gambling devices are allowed on the 

    licensed premises. 

•  No spirituous liquor is allowed, unless you have an appropriate 

    ABC permit. 

•  Permits are not transferable either person to person or     

    location to location. 

•  Customer Conduct: Permitted businesses are responsible for

    the disorderly conduct of customers anywhere on their        

    property including, parking lots and outdoor service areas.

    Customers who become loud, boisterous or disorderly may  

    not be allowed to remain on the premises; they may be       

    removed from premises for any behavior deemed unruly by  

    the permitted business. 

•  Business Records: All permittees are required to maintain        

    alcohol invoices and receipts on the premises for three years  

    and make them readily available for inspection. These alcohol 

    invoices and receipts must be kept separate from other        

    invoices or receipts. 

•  Remodeling: If you wish to make changes to the physical      

    setup of your business, you must get renovation approval     

    from the ABC Commission.

•  Lighting: There should be sufficient lighting to read menus,  

    avoid potential safety hazards and check I.D.s. 

•  Smoking: Smoking is not allowed in enclosed areas of       

    restaurants and bars. For more information on the NC 

    Smoke-Free Restaurants and Bar law, visit     

    www.smokefreenc.gov. 

•  Applicants seeking a temporary retail permit(s) are required  

    to complete an approved alcohol seller/server training        

    course prior to receiving the temporary permits. More       

    information about training is available at 

    http://abc.nc.gov/education.

Employee Requirements:
•  No drinking on the job; employees cannot drink alcoholic       

    beverages while on duty, even if the business is closed.        

    For example, drinking a beer while sweeping the floors       

    after closing time is not allowed; likewise, if an off-duty       

    server comes into the business for drinks, and it gets busy,  

    she cannot help out until it slows down. Employees who  

    are or have been drinking cannot effectively judge the age  

    or sobriety of customers. 

Hiring Restrictions:
•  Permit holders are responsible for any actions committed by  

    their employee(s) during their hours of employment.

•  You cannot hire an employee to sell or serve alcoholic  

    beverages who has been: convicted of a felony of any kind   

    within 3 years; convicted of an alcoholic beverage offense  

    within 2 years (DWI is a traffic violation, not an ABC        

    violation); or convicted of a misdemeanor controlled    

    substance offense within 2 years. 

•  If you want to hire someone with one of these convictions,  

    you may submit a waiver in writing to the ABC Commission.  

    Waivers are only available in cases of hardship, and the        

    permit holder/business, must submit the request (not the    

    potential employee). 

Employee Age Requirements:
•  Businesses with any type of beer or wine permit must       

    have an employee who is at least 18 years old or older in    

    charge at all times. You cannot leave someone in charge    

    who is younger than 18. 

•  Business with any type of spirituous liquor permit must       

    have an employee who is at least 21 years old or older in    

    charge at all times. You cannot leave someone in charge    

    who is younger than 21. 

•  Permit holders with a Brown Bagging, Mixed Beverages, or  

    Special Occasion permit must have a person in charge at all  

    times who is at least 21 years old. 

•  Additional age requirements specific to the type of permit     

    are included in Sections 2 and 4. Se
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In addition to regulations that all permit holders have to follow 

(Section 1), on-premise permit holders have other requirements 

to follow. On-premise permitted businesses serve and sell 

alcoholic beverages for consumption on-site. These businesses 

may choose to apply for permits that allow for the sales of malt 

beverages/beer, wine and/or mixed beverages/spirituous liquor 

drinks, as long as their local jurisdiction allows the sale of these 

kinds of beverages. 

Types of Permits:
•  On-premise Malt Beverage (beer) Permits can be issued       

    to any retail business, unless beer was voted in under the   

    “modified plan.” Check your local laws. Fee is $400. It    

    allows for the sale of malt beverages for consumption on the  

    business’ premises. It also allows for off-premise sales of   

    malt beverages as long as they are in the manufacturer’s    

    original container. 

•  On-premise Unfortified Wine Permits can be issued to the        

    following types of businesses: restaurants, hotels, eating  

    establishments, food businesses, retail businesses, private  

    clubs, convention centers, community theaters. Fee is $400.  

    It allows for the sale of unfortified wine (16% or less alcohol  

    by volume) for consumption on the business’ premises. It    

    also allows for  off-premise sales of unfortified wine as long  

    as it is in the original manufacturer’s container. 

•  On-premise Fortified Wine Permits can be issued to the

    following types of businesses: restaurants, hotels, private  

    clubs, community theaters, wineries, convention centers.

    Fee is $400. It allows for the sale of fortified wine (17-24%

    alcohol by  volume)  for consumption on the business’

    premises. It also allows for off-premise sales of fortified

    wine as long as it is in the original manufacturer’s container. 

•  Mixed Beverages Permits can be issued to restaurants, hotels,

    private clubs, convention centers, community theaters,

    nonprofit organizations and political organizations. Fee is    

    $1,000. It allows for the sale of mixed alcoholic beverages for

    consumption on the business’ premises. It also allows the use    

    of spirituous liquor purchased under a mixed beverage permit   

    to be used for culinary purposes. 

•  A full list of alcohol permits is described at http://abc.nc.gov  

    under the Permits menu.

General Requirements:
•  Any location that holds permits for on-premises alcohol  

    consumption must have at least two bathrooms in working   

    order for public use.

•  On-Premise Permit Holders must recycle all recyclable     

    beverage containers emptied and/or used on the premises. 

•  No advertising bearing an alcoholic beverage brand name       

    may be displayed outside your business or in the window of

    your licensed premises. Some of the words that are     

    permissible are “Beer,” “Cold Beer,” “Draft Beer,” or “Wine.” 

Beer & Wine:
•  If you hold an on-premise beer or wine permit(s), you can  

    also sell beer or wine to be taken off the licensed premises  

    if it’s in the manufacturer’s original container.

•  Partial bottles of wine may be re-corked or re-capped and  

    taken off the premises by the customer if during legal hours  

    for sale. 

Mixed Beverages:
•  All Mixed Beverage Permits must be renewed by April 30th  

    every year.

•  All spirituous liquor must be purchased from a designated  

    ABC Store in your area.

•  All Mixed Beverage Permit Holders must submit financial and   

    liquor inventory reports to the ABC Commission on a    

    schedule set by the Commission’s Audit Division. 

•  Every spirituous liquor bottle on the premises must have a  

    mixed beverage tax stamp on it.

Section 2 O
n
-P

re
m

is
e
 P

e
rm

it H
o
ld

e
rs

Se
ct

io
n 

2 O
n
-P

re
m

is
e
 P

e
rm

it
 H

o
ld

e
rs



10 11

Se
ct

io
n 

2 O
n
-P

re
m

is
e
 P

e
rm

it
 H

o
ld

e
rs

•  Mixed beverage tax stamps must be defaced as soon as the  

    bottle has been emptied, and the bottle must be immediately  

    disposed of. Once your bartender uses up all the liquor in a       

    bottle, he should immediately deface the tax stamp and   

    recycle the bottle (you can use a Sharpie marker to deface  

    the stamp). 

•  Refilling or marrying multiple spirituous liquor bottles into  

    one bottle is illegal – you cannot take half-empty bottles of  

    liquor and combine them into one bottle and/or refill an

    empty bottle. 

•  A mixed drink must contain at least 1 oz. of liquor, unless a  

    customer requests less. 

•  All mixed beverages must be consumed on the permitted

    premises; “to-go” cups or sales are not allowed (this     

    includes both individual drinks and/or by the bottle). 

•  Pre-mixing of mixed beverages is allowed with the ABC         

    Commission’s approval. You should submit your pre-mixed  

    beverage recipes online,

    http://abc.nc.gov/audit/premixing.aspx

Amounts Allowed to be Served:
•  Only serve one drink at a time to a single customer for

    consumption. So, if someone wants to drink two beers during

    his dinner, you can only serve him one at a time; you cannot  

    bring him both beers at one time. The only exception is that  

    you may serve one shot and one beer together (boilermaker). 

•  A pitcher of alcoholic beverages must be served to two or    

    more customers. 

•  A single carafe or bottle of wine is allowed to be sold to    

    one person. 

•  Partial bottles of wine may be re-corked or re-capped  

    and taken off site by the customer during legal hours of sale  

    (restaurants & private clubs).

Employee Age Requirements for    
On-Premise Businesses:
•  Mixed Beverage Permits

    Bartenders or other employees who mix drinks containing  

    spirituous liquor must be at least 21 years old.

•  Beer & Wine Permits

    Servers who prepare, serve, sell or deliver alcoholic    

    beverages must be at least 18 years old. 

•  Minors (16 & 17 year olds) can work at a permitted business  

    as long as they do not serve, prepare, sell or deliver any       

    kind of alcoholic beverages. Be sure to follow all other     

    employment laws involving minor employees as well.
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Private Clubs:
•  Businesses must be open to only members and their guests.

•  New members must submit a written membership application, 

    and the business must keep it on file as long as the person is  

    a member.

•  A membership roster with all members’ names and      

    addresses in alphabetical order must be kept on the premises  

    at all times.

•  Proof of membership (a membership card) must be issued to  

    the member and kept in his/her possession.

•  Management and employees cannot solicit members to    

    sponsor non-members who arrive at the door.

•  House guests are not allowed. 

Restaurants:
•  Food sales must exceed 30% of total food and alcohol sales.  

    Beer, wine and mixed beverage sales are included in the total  

    alcohol sales. 

•  Food must be available during all business hours. A limited  

    menu is allowed during non-dining hours.

Hotels/Restaurants:
•  Hotels must have a restaurant on or near the premises.

•  Receipts from lodging must be greater than the receipts from  

    alcohol sales (for hotels only).

•  Lodging receipts do not apply if the restaurant is separately  

    owned or operated. 

•  Restaurants must have food available during all business    

    hours. A limited menu is allowed during non-dining hours.

•  Room service may include mixed beverages as long as the  

    person(s) buying and consuming is at least 21 years old.

In addition to regulations that all permit holders have to follow 

(Section 1), off-premise permit holders have other  

requirements that apply to them. Off-premise permitted 

businesses serve and sell alcoholic beverages for consumption 

at another, off-site location.

A full list of alcohol permits is described at http://abc.nc.gov 

under the Permits menu.

Employee Age & General Requirements
•  Minors (16 & 17 year olds) may work at off-premise       

    establishments (Beer & Wine Permits) in any capacity as        

    long as the NC Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour    

    Division rules are followed.

•  Retail businesses may choose to apply for off-premise       

    permits that allow for the sales of malt beverages/beer,        

    unfortified wine and fortified wine, as long as their local     

    jurisdiction allows the sale of these kinds of beverages.        

    The fee for off-premise malt beverage and wine permits is  

    $400 each. All alcohol permits are described at    

    http://abc.nc.gov under the Permits menu.

•  Off-Premise Fortified Wine permits can be issued to food 

    businesses  and wineries. Food businesses are stores that  

    sell or offer for sale staple food items including meat, 

    poultry, fish, fruits, vegetables, breads, cereals, juices and 

    dairy products. In order to qualify as a food business, you  

    need a minimum of $1,500 of staples. The following foods

    are not considered staple food stock: coffee, tea, cocoa,        

    carbonated and non-carbonated drinks, candy, condiments  

    and spices. Basically, if a store has a good stock of milk, 

    bread, eggs, etc., that will suffice, but if a store only carries  

    candy, chips and sodas, no matter how  large the stock, the  

    Commission does not consider it a food business. 

•  Food inventory must be maintained on the licensed premises.  

    Food may not be stored elsewhere. 
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Amounts Allowed to be Sold:
The below amounts are allowed to be sold to a single customer 

without a Purchase-Transportation Permit. To buy more than 

the stated amounts of unfortified wine and/or fortified wine, the 

customer must bring in a Purchase-Transportation Permit from 

the local ABC Store.

•  Beer – Maximum of 80 liters in cans or bottles.         

    This is equivalent to:

    9 cases and 9 cans/bottles (12 oz.)

    7 cases and 1 can/bottle (16 oz.)

    Kegs - unlimited

•  Unfortified Wine – Maximum of 50 liters.         

    This is equivalent to:

    (10) 5 liter containers

    (66) 750 milliliter bottles

    (50) 1 liter bottles

    (28) 1.75 liter bottles

•  Fortified Wine – Maximum of 8 liters.

The laws in North Carolina were designed to protect fair 

commercial competition between manufacturers of alcoholic 

beverages. Relationships between wholesalers and retailers 

that result in special prices, gifts or agreements to sell only 

particular brands, are strictly prohibited. Remember the 

following rules when dealing with wholesalers:

•  ABC Permit holders must buy alcoholic beverages only       

    from North Carolina licensed wholesalers.

•  Mixed Beverage Permittees must buy all spirituous       

    liquor from an assigned ABC Store so that the mixed    

    beverage tax can be charged on each container. 

•  Retail Permittees may not accept or seek out any              

    discounts, gifts, loans, rebates or entertainment from    

    any alcoholic beverage manufacturer or wholesaler. 

•  Retail permittees must keep alcoholic beverage invoices       

    for at least three years. These records must be kept         

    separate from other invoices; invoices should be kept on     

    the licensed premises. 

•  Retail permittees may not buy alcoholic beverages on    

    credit – they must pay on delivery. 

•  Retail permittees may not have any financial or    

    wholesale business association with any spirituous       

    liquor, beer, wine wholesaler or importer or      

    manufacturer or vice versa. 

•  Retail permittees may not enter into any agreement to        

    sell any particular brand(s) of alcoholic beverages to the       

    exclusion of another brand. 

•  Malt beverage and wine wholesalers may not give, lend, or  

    rent any fixtures, equipment or supplies to retail permittees.  

    However, they may sell certain supplies on a cash basis at  

    fair market value. 

•  Wholesalers may build, rotate and restock displays and       

    price products for the retailer of their own brands only.       

    They may not handle other wholesalers’ products. 

•  Manufacturers and wholesalers may not make any sale       

    of an alcoholic beverage dependent upon the purchase       

    of any other product. 

14
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•  Retail permittees may sell or use novelties to advertise       

    the trade name of an alcoholic beverage (such as T-shirts or  

    hats), but must buy them at the prevailing market price. (See  

    NC Administrative Rule 2T.0711-0717 for more.)

•  Wholesalers may provide point of sale advertising materials  

    or brand signs to the retailer, as long as they have no value  

    other than advertising. They cannot be customized for the  

    retailer. Usable items, such as novelties, must be sold to     

    the retailer. 

Legal Drinking Age:
In North Carolina, you must be at least 21 years old to 

consume, possess or buy alcohol. It is illegal to sell or serve 

alcoholic beverages to anyone under 21 years old. Parents can’t 

even provide alcohol to their children who are younger than 

21 years old.

 

Whether you work in a tavern, restaurant or store that sells 

alcoholic beverages, it is important to know how to prevent 

selling alcohol to underage customers. 

Acceptable Forms of Identifi cation:
In North Carolina, there are only four acceptable forms of 

identification you can use to buy alcoholic beverages: 

1.  Current driver’s license from North Carolina or other states.    

    Currently, when drivers renew their driver’s license in

    our state, the NC Division of Motor Vehicles provides a paper  

    20 day driving certificate and then mails the permanent  

    photo ID/driver’s license to the driver. Drivers are allowed  

    to keep their old license until the renewed license is mailed  

    to them. The temporary, 20 day paper license is considered

    a valid driver’s license, but the customer should also show  

    their expired license along with the paper certificate when  

    asked for identification.

2. U.S. Military Identification. These identifications are     

    green and white with a photograph of the individual and     

    physical description. 

3. North Carolina Identification Card. An official State of       

    North Carolina Special Identification (ID) card that has a    

    photograph issued to a person who does not drive. 

4. Official passport issued by any nation. Passports may be in

    the booklet or card form. Official forms of identification        

    include a photograph, date of birth and written or electronic

    signature. 

A wristband is not an acceptable form of identification. Other 

unacceptable forms of identification include: birth certificates, 

school or work ID cards, Social Security Cards, bill

statements or other identifications different from the 4 

allowable IDs above. 

16
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Tips for Checking IDs & Spotting a Fake ID:
The most common form of ID that you will see is a driver’s 

license. North Carolina’s drivers’ licenses have changed a lot in 

the last few years. They have several key features that will help 

you determine if someone is allowed to buy alcohol and/or if 

someone is using a fake ID. 

Stoplight Drivers’ Licenses:
North Carolina licenses use a “stoplight” theme to make 

identifying underage easy. There is a colored border around the 

photo on NC drivers’ licenses, and each color signals how old 

the person is (see below). Each border also shows the date that 

the person turns 21. 

In addition to the red, yellow or green border around the 

person’s picture, anyone who is under 21 will have a vertical 

license. People over 21 have a horizontal license.

 

Red Border

•  Underage for tobacco and alcohol (ages 15-17)

•  Vertical license

Yellow Border 

•  Legal for tobacco, but not alcohol (ages 18-20)

•  Look carefully at birth date, and expiration date; 

    patron may be 21. 

•  May be vertical or horizontal license

Green Border

•  Legal for tobacco and alcohol (ages 21+)

•  Horizontal license

How to Check IDs:
1.  Compare the photograph and physical description to the  

    person standing in front of you. Are they the same person?  

    People may gain or lose weight, change their hairstyle, and  

    even wear different color contacts on their eyes, but their  

    height will stay the same. 

2. Look for holograms and other security features. North         

    Carolina drivers’ licenses have several holograms and

    watermarks – an airplane in the middle, all 100 county        

    names listed along the top edge, several NC DMV logos    

    and others. 

3. Compare the large picture with the ghost image/watermark  

    of the picture in the bottom corner. Do they match?

4. Check for tampering by feeling the ID. Is it smooth, all one  

    piece with no frayed or worn edges? The surface should be  

    the same thickness across the ID. 

5. Remember – when in doubt, DON’T SELL! 

Right to Refuse:
The Customer Isn’t Always Right! No one under 21 is allowed 

to buy or consume alcohol at your bar, restaurant or store no 

matter what they may tell you. It doesn’t matter if a parent 

gives their child alcohol or the child sneaks it; whether a minor 

drinks in their own home or at your business, it is illegal for 

someone under 21 to consume alcohol.

•  Employees can refuse to sell alcoholic beverages to any     

    person. If you’re unsure of their age or level of intoxication,  

    you do not have to sell. 

•  Employees can refuse to sell alcohol to an adult they  

    suspect is buying for minors waiting outside or sitting with  

    them at the table. 

•  There is no legal recourse by a customer who you have    

    refused a sale. 

•  Remember – when in doubt, DON’T SELL!
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It is illegal to serve or sell an alcoholic beverage to anyone 

who is already drunk or impaired. But how can you know if a 

customer has had too much to drink? It’s important to know 

the signs of impairment, regardless of whether you work in a 

tavern, a restaurant or a store.

Alcohol affects everyone differently. What’s more, the same 

customer can react differently at different times to the same 

number of drinks. A customer’s reactions to alcohol can 

depend on how fast they are drinking, the amount of food they 

have consumed, their mood, or even the type of mixer used.

 

So, it may be difficult to decide when it is time to refuse 

service, and even more difficult to carry out your decision, 

especially when you are turning away a good customer. Many 

times you will have to rely on your own good judgment. The 

key is to observe your customer carefully.

Signs of Impairment:
Physical Coordination 

The Drink Spiller: Spilling drinks can be a sign of impairment, 

especially if it happens more than once. This may show that 

your customer has lost muscle control. Watch to see if the 

customer’s mouth misses the glass. 

The Money Fumbler: Carelessness or clumsiness with money 

also can be a warning sign. Watch to see if your customer is 

dropping cash on the floor, has trouble picking it up or can’t 

count out the right amount to pay for a drink. 

The Stumbler: Unsteady walking is an obvious sign that your 

customer has had too much to drink. Watch for customers who 

are bumping into tables or into other customers.

Behavior & Personality Changes

The Agitator: You don’t have to watch closely to recognize loud 

and angry behavior as a sign of impairment. Some customers 

who have had too much to drink will become loud, pick fights 

and swear. Some will complain about your service, the cost of 

your drinks, or the way they were mixed.

 

The Entertainer: On the other hand, some customers become 

very friendly when they are drinking. But a person who 

becomes unusually entertaining and boisterous can be just 

as intoxicated as someone who is causing trouble. Watch for 

customers who are buying rounds of drinks for strangers. 

Excessive bragging may also be a giveaway.

 

The Loner: Too many drinks can make some people sullen 

and withdrawn. Keep an eye out for customers who lose their 

concentration and train of thought during conversation. They 

will often avoid eye contact, too. Look for signs of depression 

or fatigue, such as a bobbing head or drooping eyelids. This 

could signal illness or that the customer is on medication.

 

Speech Patterns 

Talk with your customers. If you don’t already know them, it 

will help you to recognize any changes in their speech as they 

are drinking. Watch for these symptoms of intoxication:

•  Loud 

•  Talking 

•  Bragging 

•  Arguing 

•  Swearing 

•  Complaining 

•  Slurred Speech 
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Refusing Service to a Customer:
Remember that NC laws say you cannot serve alcohol to 

anyone who is impaired. However, you can allow an impaired 

customer to stay at your place, as long as they are not 

consuming alcoholic beverages or being disorderly. Offer them 

some food or other beverages if you’d like them to stay. 

Refusing to serve a customer can be very difficult. Even 

your regular customers, whose business is important to you, 

might become intoxicated. It’s important to remember that 

an intoxicated customer can become a dangerous customer 

– either inside or outside your business. It’s your job as a 

responsible seller and local business to help protect your 

customers and community. You don’t want that customer to 

drive drunk – your actions could save a life.

Delaying Tactics:
Early action on your part may prevent the customer from 

becoming a problem. Keep note of how many drinks your 

customers have had. Generally, it takes about an hour for the 

body to process a standard drink. Always be on the lookout for 

early signs of intoxication. 

Try these delaying tactics to help alcohol work its way through 

the customer’s system.

•  Slow Service Down. Casually avoid the customer’s table.  

    Delay ordering and serving drinks by busying yourself with  

    other chores. 

•  Suggest Food. Encourage the customer to eat food. Food       

    slows down the absorption of alcohol and takes additional  

    time that the customer isn’t drinking.

•  Suggest Non-alcoholic Drinks. Encourage the customer to  

    drink a soft drink, water and/or coffee. Be friendly and try  

    not to offend your customer. Serving a watered down drink  

    is not a good “compromise;” remember, it’s illegal to serve  

    alcohol to an intoxicated person.

•  Gather Support from Others. Talk with others who may be   

    along with the customer to gather support and cooperation.  

    If the customer is alone, you may wish to inform your    

    manager or fellow server to assist with the customer. 

Cutting Off  a Customer: 
Refusing service to a customer who may be impaired can be a 

delicate issue. When you’ve tried everything to get the person 

to stop drinking, it’s time to completely refuse service to the 

customer. 

Establish a management policy and support your staff. Train 

staff to notify management before cutting someone off. Make 

sure all your servers know the policy and work together when 

dealing with an intoxicated and unruly customer. And most 

importantly, have a policy in place before an incident occurs.

 

Be courteous and friendly, but firm when refusing service. 

Don’t back down once you make a decision about the customer.

 

Be honest with the customer. Let the customer know 

immediately that your permit to sell alcoholic beverages and 

even your job are at risk. Don’t provoke or embarrass them by 

making statements which may offend them, like, “you’re drunk” 

or “you’ve had way too much to drink.”

 

Provide safe transportation home. Ask the customer’s friends 

to provide a ride home or offer a free cab ride home. Don’t 

let the customer drive home if he or she is intoxicated. If the 

customer becomes unruly, call the local police or sheriff.

 

Remember that different people process alcohol differently. 

Age, gender, weight, physical condition, amount of food 

consumed, medications or drugs, and more all affect how a 

person’s body tolerates and processes alcohol.
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As a business permitted to sell alcohol, it’s your job to help 

promote the responsible sale of alcohol by following alcohol 

regulations and not serving to underage or intoxicated 

customers. Violating the laws and rules surrounding the sale of 

alcohol can result in fines, suspensions or even a revocation of 

your permit(s).

 

Further, in some cases, permittees may face costly civil suits 

and penalties when they serve customers who are underage 

and/or intoxicated and later become involved in a serious 

accident. Use sensible guidelines to protect yourself and your 

business. 

Some examples include: 
•  Your business should have written rules for dealing with  

    intoxicated customers, for checking identification cards and  

    other policies. 

•  Provide training regularly to your employees so they      

    understand your policies, how they are to carry them    

    out, and to whom they should report problems, etc. 

    All applicants applying for temporary retail ABC permits will  

    be required to provide proof of Responsible Alcohol Seller/ 

    Server training PRIOR to obtaining a temporary ABC permit.

    For information about free Responsible Alcohol Seller/        

    Server Programs (RASP), and/or other approved training    

    resources, visit http://abc.nc.gov/education. 

•  Have your employees sign a copy of your written policies       

    certifying that they have read and understand them. Provide

    answers to any questions the employee may have and  

    always encourage your employees to discuss problems that  

    may arise in their work day. 

•  Always support your employee’s decision to refuse service  

    to an intoxicated customer. 

•  If your business serves drinks, provide free snacks and        

   non-alcoholic beverages to your customers. Provide other

   activities to your customers besides alcoholic beverages,       

   such as computer or video games or pool, so you may better  

   observe their behavior. 

•  Provide free or low-cost transportation to intoxicated     

    customers who should not drive. 

•  North Carolina law requires you to display your ABC permit   

    at your business at all times. 
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About:
The Alcohol Law Enforcement (ALE) is a division of the 

Department of Public Safety. ALE is responsible for the 

enforcement of the ABC laws and rules and conducts 

investigations. ALE consists of 9 districts and the Raleigh 

headquarters office. 

ALE agents provide up-to-date information on the ABC laws 

and rules and can assist you with any special questions your 

business may have.

 

ALE agents have the right to:

•  Inspect licensed premises, or any premises that are in        

    any way connected, physically or otherwise, to the        

    licensed premises.

•  Examine your books and records.

•  Take enforcement action that is necessary (criminal or    

    administrative through the ABC Commission) for illegal    

    activities on the premises.

It’s your responsibility to follow all ABC laws and rules, and 

ALE agents are available to answer your questions and provide 

helpful information. For this reason, ALE usually treats 

inspections and other enforcement activities as ways to 

prevent permittees from unintentionally violating ABC laws 

and rules.

 

It’s a good idea to become acquainted with your local ALE 

agent when you receive an ABC permit. They will be able to 

help you understand the ABC laws and rules. They can also 

provide materials (print and audio/visual) that further cover 

important laws and rules. 

If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to contact your 

local ALE District Office directly.

Offi  ce Locations & Contact Information:
Headquarters

Physical Address: 430 North Salisbury Street, Raleigh, NC 27603

Mailing Address: 4704 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-4704

(919) 733-4060

(919) 733-8002 fax

District I - Elizabeth City

Serving Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, 

Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, 

Perquimans, Tyrrell and Washington Counties.

106 Tarheel Court, Elizabeth City, NC 27909

(252) 335-2357

(252) 335-4867 fax

District II - New Bern

Serving Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, Pamlico, 

Pitt and Wilson counties.

1307 Tatum Drive, New Bern, NC 28562

(252) 514-4720

(252) 514-4884 fax

District III - Wilmington

Serving Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Duplin, New Hanover, Onslow 

and Pender counties.

107 Cinema Drive, Suite 102, Wilmington, NC 28403

(910) 343-3963

(910) 343-3996 fax

District IV - Raleigh

Serving Chatham, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Johnston, Orange, 

Person, Vance, Wake and Warren counties.

5201 Old Poole Road, Suite 114, Raleigh, NC 27610

(919) 250-5934

(919) 250-5939 fax
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District V - Fayetteville

Serving Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, 

Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland and Wayne counties.

420 Chicago Drive, Fayetteville, NC 28306

(910) 486-1124

(910) 486-1748 fax

District VI - Greensboro

Serving Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, 

Randolph, Rockingham and Stokes counties.

2606 Phoenix Drive, Suite 502, Greensboro, NC 27406

(336) 315-7070

(336) 315-7071 fax

District VII - Conover

Serving Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, 

Catawba, Cleveland, Iredell, Lincoln, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes and 

Yadkin counties.

301 10th Street NW, Conover, NC 28613

(828) 466-5550

(828) 466-5554 fax

District VIII - Charlotte

Serving Anson, Cabarrus, Gaston, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Stanly and 

Union counties.

5501 Seventy Seven Center Drive, Suite 150, Charlotte, NC 28217

(704) 527-3062

(704) 527-3095 fax

District IX - Asheville

Serving Buncombe, Burke, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, 

Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, 

Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania and Yancey counties.

5 Barbetta Drive, Ridgefield Business Center, Asheville, NC 28806

(828) 670-5055

(828) 670-5059 fax

About:
The ABC Commission is a state government agency within the 

NC Department of Commerce charged with providing uniform 

control over the sale, purchase, transportation, manufacture, 

consumption and possession of alcoholic beverages. The 

Commission is made up of the following divisions that are 

dedicated to serving the needs of the public and permitted 

businesses: 

•  Audit Division 

•  Education and Training Division 

•  Internal Audit and Pricing Division 

•  Legal Division 

•  Permit & Product Compliance Division

 

If you ever have questions or concerns, please feel free to 

contact the ABC Commission.

 

Contact Information
Physical Location: 400 East Tryon Road, Raleigh NC 27610 

Mailing Address: 4307 Mail Service Center Raleigh NC 27699-4307 

(919) 779-0700 

(919) 662-3583 fax 

http://abc.nc.gov
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This publication is distributed by the NC ABC Commission and 
is not for resale. Additional copies may be purchased for $2 

each by contacting the NC ABC Commission.


